Public nonprofit record
Academy Of Himalayan Art And Children Development Inc
EIN 46-2055271·Hawaiʻi, United States
A source-linked view of what this organization reported. Figures are reproduced from filings; unavailable fields remain explicitly unavailable.
Financial statement
Select a figure to trace it to the disclosure that supports it.Form 990 — rendered financial statement
IRS 990 data lags the tax year it covers, and this record is a snapshot taken on the ingest date above. It is rendered from the fields ProPublica machine-extracts; lines not carried here are shown as such and linked to the filing that holds them.
Revenue
How the organization reported its money coming in.
| Line item | Current year | Prior year |
|---|---|---|
| Contributions & grantsPart VIII, line 1h | Not in filing on fileNot present in the parsed XML retained for this record. Read the linked filing; absence here does not mean the organization reported zero. | |
| Program service revenuePart VIII, line 2g | Not in filing on fileNot present in the parsed XML retained for this record. Read the linked filing; absence here does not mean the organization reported zero. | |
| Investment incomePart VIII, line 3 | Not in filing on fileNot present in the parsed XML retained for this record. Read the linked filing; absence here does not mean the organization reported zero. | |
| Other revenuePart VIII, lines 4–11 | Not in filing on fileNot present in the parsed XML retained for this record. Read the linked filing; absence here does not mean the organization reported zero. | |
| -$141,222 | — | |
Functional expenses
How the organization reported its money going out, by function.
| Line item | Current year | Prior year |
|---|---|---|
| Program servicesPart IX, column (B) | $44,000 | — |
| Management & generalPart IX, column (C) | $225 | — |
| FundraisingPart IX, column (D) | $0 | — |
| $120,877 | — |
Net assets
What the organization reported it was worth at year end.
| Line item | Current year | Prior year |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning of yearPart I, line 21 | $1,934,338 | — |
| $1,672,239 | — | |
| Net change in net assetsline 22 − line 21 | Not in filing on fileNot shown. The beginning-of-year figure is not carried in this record, so a net change would be a number we did not observe. Both endpoints are on Part I of the linked filing. | |
Balance sheet snapshot
Assets, liabilities and net assets at the end of the year.
| Line item | Current year | Prior year |
|---|---|---|
| Total assetsPart X, line 16 | $1,824,527 | — |
| Total liabilitiesPart X, line 26 | $152,288 | — |
| $1,672,239 | — |
Key employees & compensation
| Line item | Current year | Prior year |
|---|---|---|
| Officers and directorsPart VII, Section A | YANKUN DUAN — PRESIDENT ($0 reportable compensation); LAURIE BROWN — DIRECTOR ($0 reportable compensation); ENYI LI — DIRECTOR ($0 reportable compensation); KAN LU — DIRECTOR ($0 reportable compensation) | — |
| Reportable compensation from organizationPart VII, Section A | $0 | — |
Governance
| Line item | Current year | Prior year |
|---|---|---|
| Voting membersPart VI, line 1a | 4 | — |
| Policy responsesPart VI, Section B | conflict of interest policy: yes; whistleblower policy: yes; document retention policy: yes | — |
Program service accomplishments
The free-text description of what the organization did with its money is reported in Part III of the 990 and continued on Schedule O. It is not extracted into this record; read it in the linked filing.
The prior-year column is shown for the ProPublica-style comparison layout. This record carries a single 990-series return, so no prior-year figures are on file to compare against — every prior-year cell is left blank rather than estimated.
Public evidence — the disclosures behind these figures
Each figure the 990 reports, as its own disclosure, linked to the source that published it. Click a figure in the statement above to filter to the disclosure that backs it.
2026-08-25Total revenue reportedRevenue disclosure-$141,222Disclosed
- FilingReported on the organization’s Form 990 — Reported on the 2024 Form 990 XML return.
- SourceDisclosed via IRS Form 990 XML
2026-08-25Total expenses reportedExpense disclosure$120,877Disclosed
- FilingReported on the organization’s Form 990 — Reported on the 2024 Form 990 XML return.
- SourceDisclosed via IRS Form 990 XML
2026-08-25Net assets at year endNet-assets disclosure$1,672,239Disclosed
- FilingReported on the organization’s Form 990 — Reported on the 2024 Form 990 XML return.
- SourceDisclosed via IRS Form 990 XML
Every entry carries its own evidence. Expand any line to see the disclosure and the source that published it.
Full record — every field, sourced
Values as reported by the organization on its own filings, retrieved through the sources listed at the bottom of this page. Rows without a value state which source we checked and what it did or did not return.
EIN
46-2055271
Source: IRS Form 990 via ProPublica
IRS Form 990 via ProPublica · checked Aug 25, 2026
Entity type
501(c)(3) — charitable / educational
Source: IRS Form 990 via ProPublica
IRS Form 990 via ProPublica · checked Aug 25, 2026
IRS ruling (recognition) date
2014-10-01
Source: IRS Business Master File (EO BMF) via ProPublica
IRS Business Master File (EO BMF) via ProPublica · checked Aug 25, 2026
Location on file
Holualoa, HI
Source: IRS Form 990 via ProPublica
IRS Form 990 via ProPublica · checked Aug 25, 2026
NTEE activity code
A23
Source: IRS Business Master File (EO BMF) via ProPublica
IRS Business Master File (EO BMF) via ProPublica · checked Aug 25, 2026
Most recent 990-series return
Tax year 2023 (Form 990)
Source: IRS Form 990 via ProPublica
IRS Form 990 via ProPublica · checked Aug 25, 2026
990-series returns in this dataset
11 (tax years 2012–2023)
Source: IRS Form 990 via ProPublica
IRS Form 990 via ProPublica · checked Aug 25, 2026
Total revenue reported, latest XML return
-$141,222
Reported on the 2024 Form 990 XML return.
IRS Form 990 XML · checked Aug 25, 2026
Mission or most significant activity
PROMOTION, PRESERVATION AND SHARING OF TIBETAN FOLK MUSIC, ART CULTURE OF THE VARIOUS MINORITY GROUPS FROM THE HIMALAYAN REGION
IRS Form 990 XML · checked Aug 25, 2026
Total expenses reported, latest XML return
$120,877
Reported on the 2024 Form 990 XML return.
IRS Form 990 XML · checked Aug 25, 2026
Net assets at end of year, latest XML return
$1,672,239
Reported on the 2024 Form 990 XML return.
IRS Form 990 XML · checked Aug 25, 2026
Program-service-expense ratio
Not carriedThe program-service-expense share is a ratio our reader could compute from Form 990 Part IX totals. We do not present it here — a computed ratio without the source lines beside it reads as an editorial number, which this record is not.
Top program service expenses
Not carriedProgram-service accomplishments are reported in Form 990 Part III. Not extracted into this record; read them in the linked filing.
Voting members of the governing body
4
IRS Form 990 XML · checked Aug 25, 2026
Officers and directors reported in Part VII
YANKUN DUAN — PRESIDENT ($0 reportable compensation); LAURIE BROWN — DIRECTOR ($0 reportable compensation); ENYI LI — DIRECTOR ($0 reportable compensation); KAN LU — DIRECTOR ($0 reportable compensation)
IRS Form 990 XML · checked Aug 25, 2026
Hawaii state registration
Source unavailableNot retrieved. The Hawaii DCCA business registry excludes all automated access in its robots.txt, and we honor that. This record is built from federal filings only.
Returns after the most recent one on file
Not yet filedNo 990, 990-EZ or 990-PF return for a tax year after 2023 appears in this dataset as of our last check. This dataset does not include 990-N e-Postcards (filed by the smallest organizations) and can lag IRS processing, so this is not by itself an indication that a return is missing or overdue.
IRS exempt-organization filing status
active
Derived from the IRS datasets listed in Sources consulted.
Source: IRS compliance datasets
IRS compliance datasets · checked Aug 25, 2026
IRS deductibility code
PC
Source: IRS compliance datasets
IRS compliance datasets · checked Aug 25, 2026
Latest IRS filing observed
Form 990 — 2025
Source: IRS compliance datasets
IRS compliance datasets · checked Aug 25, 2026
Total assets at beginning of year
$2,086,626
Reported on the 2024 Form 990 XML return.
IRS Form 990 XML · checked Aug 25, 2026
Total assets at end of year
$1,824,527
Reported on the 2024 Form 990 XML return.
IRS Form 990 XML · checked Aug 25, 2026
Total liabilities at beginning of year
$152,288
Reported on the 2024 Form 990 XML return.
IRS Form 990 XML · checked Aug 25, 2026
Total liabilities at end of year
$152,288
Reported on the 2024 Form 990 XML return.
IRS Form 990 XML · checked Aug 25, 2026
Net assets at beginning of year
$1,934,338
Reported on the 2024 Form 990 XML return.
IRS Form 990 XML · checked Aug 25, 2026
Program service expenses
$44,000
Reported on the 2024 Form 990 XML return.
IRS Form 990 XML · checked Aug 25, 2026
Management and general expenses
$225
Reported on the 2024 Form 990 XML return.
IRS Form 990 XML · checked Aug 25, 2026
Fundraising expenses
$0
Reported on the 2024 Form 990 XML return.
IRS Form 990 XML · checked Aug 25, 2026
Website reported on the return
www.ahacd.org
IRS Form 990 XML · checked Aug 25, 2026
Employees reported
0
IRS Form 990 XML · checked Aug 25, 2026
Reportable compensation from the organization
$0
IRS Form 990 XML · checked Aug 25, 2026
Grants reported in the latest XML return
3 grant recipients
NOVO FOUNDATION — amount not stated — PROGRAMMATIC; NA — amount not stated; NA — amount not stated
IRS Form 990 XML · checked Aug 25, 2026
Governance policy responses
conflict of interest policy: yes; whistleblower policy: yes; document retention policy: yes
Responses reported by the organization on Form 990, not an OpenBooks assessment.
IRS Form 990 XML · checked Aug 25, 2026
IRS XML returns parsed
2024 Form 990
Retained 1 parsed XML return for filing-level comparison.
IRS Form 990 XML · checked Aug 25, 2026
IRS exemption subsection
501(c)(3)
Source: IRS Business Master File (EO BMF) via ProPublica
IRS Business Master File (EO BMF) via ProPublica · checked Aug 25, 2026
Contribution deductibility (IRS code)
Code 1 — Contributions are deductible
Source: IRS Business Master File (EO BMF) via ProPublica
IRS Business Master File (EO BMF) via ProPublica · checked Aug 25, 2026
Foundation status (IRS code)
Code 15 — Public charity — 509(a)(1)
Source: IRS Business Master File (EO BMF) via ProPublica
IRS Business Master File (EO BMF) via ProPublica · checked Aug 25, 2026
Federal awards received
Source returned no valueUSASpending.gov returned no federal assistance awards for a recipient name matching "Academy Of Himalayan Art And Children Development Inc".
Web archive history
Source returned no valueNo website is on file for this organization, so the Internet Archive could not be checked.
Federal single audit
No permitted sourceThe Federal Audit Clearinghouse requires a free API key; FAC_API_KEY or DATA_GOV_API_KEY is not configured.
Sources consulted for this record
Every source we checked for this organization, including the ones that returned nothing. An unavailable source is not a missing value — it is a source we could not read.
- IRS Form 990 via ProPublicaAnswered
- Hawaii DCCA Business RegistryNot queriedExcluded from automated access by robots.txt; not queried.
- IRS compliance datasetsAnsweredJoined Publication 78, BMF, automatic revocations and the 990-family filing index.
- IRS Form 990 XMLAnsweredParsed 1 retained XML return: statements, programs, officers, compensation, governance and grants.
- IRS Business Master File (EO BMF) via ProPublicaAnswered
- USASpending.gov (federal awards)No match
- Internet Archive — Wayback MachineNo match
- Federal Audit ClearinghouseNot queriednot_configured